top of page

BOOOOOYAAAAA !?? - This week in Game Art

Well we did it

We done did it

We won Off The Map 2016

Heres a link to the post documenting it

Me right now

Yes after all that pain and turmoil we won the competition and I have never been happier in my Game art Carrier like this in a very long time. I the first time was probably getting onto this course in the first place. Anyway in other news third year continues and we are in week 1 of my second style matrix project; the King of the Dead. Inspired by the sculpts of artist James W Cain and the dishonered series, I tasked myself with creating a partially stylised character based off one of my concepts from the leyendecker brief.

This dude here....

I must say I really over estimated how complicated and how much time modelling such a character would take as ideally I wanted my High Poly to be finished by the end of this week. But as you see below compared to the concept above I got a lot of work to do in the next week to keep on track.

There were several factors which I believe caused this. One was getting reacquainted with Marvellous Designer after spending so long away from it. Others included well having to take a day out for the Off The Map show. However these are still things I could balance with the right time management. My main concern now is getting the rest of the props of this character modelled and textured within budget as well as getting it all done within 3 weeks. It feels like such a herculean task but one I must get used to when FMP rolls over soon in the next week. Speaking of which I have a small intial idea of one project that may interest me.

Carrying on with the fighting game theme from my second year dichotomous project a project that focuses on modelling 3 fighting game characters. One historical themed, one contemporary and one sci-fi themed to show a range of skills I can produce as a character artist.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page