top of page

Week errr something... - Off the Map Continues

The nature of this blog post will document this weeks assets for the off the map project.Off the map continues to be a very difficult project as I find that although I may feel disinterested and at times feel as if I do not get to peruse and push the skills I would like to, I have to pick up the "lack of a better term slack of others just out of my own morals on maintaining a consistent sense of quality throughout the level. Although I have expressed in the past that I am not very passionate about off the map say my other projects, I do respect the idea of maintain a sense of quality in each project that I undertake and so this week has been a very hard and stressful week.

Not to name names but a member of the group has honestly made workflows and process much more difficult due to lack of communication resulting in quality which is not up to standard and in fact ignores all the concepts we as a team have put out. Granted this lack of communication is not to be solely pinned on them as I feel there were clear times in which say I or the team could've provided feedback towards this persons work however I feel that due to my focus being spent more on covering my on chosen/given assets as well as the fear of falling out and causing conflict this has lead to this awkward situation in which we as a group are posed with the question. Use their set piece asset at the cost of the quality of the levels final set piece whilst helping them retain grade or work on a revised version of the house asset. Considering that this project is actually part of a competition, whilst discussing this as a group we came to the agreement that said persons set piece will be used as part of hand in. However we are working towards a revisied version for the competition itself. This has while debacle has put me personally in an awkward position because I feel like we are now discussing group/work ethics and whether it is right to reject someone asset based on its quality and how that quality may affect the overall project or to take over that asset attempting to salvage the quality of the level at the cost of excluding said person from the project. This sort sort debate is something I feel like I have been battling with especially with this person as I feel like my best to reach out to them and help them but ultimately fail by just doing things such a s simply taking on there assets and work. At the same time I am conflicted as said person is rarely in and rarely involved so you are posed with he question how do you involve someone who thus far has made little effort as to involving themselves in the project.

On reflection this blog post will definitely present the worst in me however this is as honest as I can be when dealing with these situations for several weeks now. Off the map hasn't been the most enjoyable project and I would like to dedicate this post more as an apology to this person to say I'm sorry for not being vocal about concerns about there work.

Anyway here are some screens of this weeks work. It mainly involved set dressing, revising assets and retooling assets for areas of the map such as my character sculpts.

One thing for sure I haven learnt the second you feel like you are taking it easy in a group project someone out there is probably have to work your load as well.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page