top of page

Week 24 - OTMブルースパートIV

Welp another week, another week of OTM blues. I should just rename these blogs rant filler blogs and redirect you towards prior much more exciting blogs such as my bonus round blogs when I learnt stuff. But anyway here is a documentation of this week during off the map.

Nothing really happened. The End.......

Right right okay. I’ll make a post. In terms of formal sessions nothing but life drawing on; life drawing which still remains to be one of the only saving graces of this project so far. The rest of this week was mainly adjusting slideshow for presentation and adjusting verts in 3DS max to make sure my bake well was successful.

I did learn a few things that would benefit my workflow as an artist such as gaining a better understanding of normals and how baking details work.

My team member gave me an easy anology to follow which was normals essentialy are the colour to the line art in colouring book images.

Which is why I need to fix quite a lot about my models.

Its a very tedious process but one that I need to get done so I can get to asset building for my group. I do worry that my pace is damaging my groups build of the map.

Anyway the second thing I learnt this week is how to create a stronger much more harmonised pallete. I would like to thank my fellow students for the help as they gave me a good starting off point to think about which was to create a harmony first and then use an accent colour to direct attention towards a focal point.

E.g The Bright red is contrasted against the very green like hues of the main bulk of the character to allow the red poncho to be one of the main focal points of the design. The Blue accent colour is used as a secondary focal point as well as to break up areas of the design.

This lead me onto the second lesson learnt about palletes particular to character art which is to pick a main colour, a secondary colour and finally an accent colour to allow for ease of management.

Applying what I learnt from these two lessons I went back and adjusted areas of my character project for the character presentation.

I would like to say I improved the pallete however on second glance it I feel like some of the character and virbrance was lost with the adjustiments for the sake of making the pink skin the focal point when in fact the yellow sash was much more stronger before as a grounded point.

In fact prior to my final revision one of my friends sat down and helped me adjust my pallete towards something much stronger.

These were the colour edits my friend made by adjusting the saturation of elements of the lower body to draw more focus towards the main body and gold sash of my character. In addition to adjusting the colour of the beads around the neck to allow them to contrast more against the skin.

Admittedly am torn between each pallete as each does something better than the other but brings with it certain flaws which is a shame. Anyway all this work with palletes has given me more of a foundation than I ever would without experimenting and somewhat failing as I have done here.

Anyway this is week 24 done.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page